Flask Killer, even on a short barrel!

Let me preface this post to say that I kinda stumbled onto the product at the suggestion of an expert in the M14 world. I’ve been deep in the M14 platform for many years. I recently called Ron Smith, of Smith Enterprises, Inc. (SEI) to discuss suppressor options that I could run on my M1a, but also swap over to several 5.56 guns. He immediately chimed in that he carries a suppressed 10.5" AR in his vehicle, and had just what I needed for my 7.5" AR pistol. I must say, I’m amazed. More on his product in a minute.

First, everyone has said a 7.5" barrel means fireballs are a fact of life. Ok? Sure, fun on the range, but I’m building this gun for genuine home defense. It’s short enough to turn 180° in a hallway, and the big flash wouldn’t be helpful in a dark house. So, I started playing with some muzzle devices…

First up, A2 birdcage. Might as well be nothing on the barrel. The A2 is so short that everything happens in front of it.

I just happened to have a Troy Industries Medieval comp laying around. This is said to be a flash hider/compensator. I think it works well on carbine length barrels, but it’s no match for some others on the market. On this short barrel, it did help manage the muzzle a bit, but nothing awe inspiring.