Starting from scratch, and I need a little help

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to the AR scene. I have a 16" Ruger AR556 I have been modifying for a few months. Now it is time to start a new one from the ground up. I am really thinking this one will be a range gun. Something longer than my Ruger. But is there a huge difference in accuracy between an 18 and a 20? Also where is the the best place to start? should I begin with the stripped lower and go from there? Thanks guys.

I am just about to complete my first build. I bought a stripped Anderson lower and parts kit. It was a blast to put together after watching a couple YouTube videos. I bought a complete upper from PSA and a stock and buffer kit. I also spent some time polishing the mil spec trigger parts. It was really a labor of love. Waiting for my APOC Armory bcg then to the range!

Im waiting to get me lower out of 10 day hold and the day after i get to go get a ca compliant mag lock. Then i get to build mine so hopefully by the end of next week i will have pics of mine.

If you go featureless you can drop mags like an oper8or! Lol

Im gonna do the lock for now. By this time next year ill be in Texas droping 30 round mags all day.