Trustable Tools for Gunsmithing

I have 2 tool questions.

1. Is a reaction rod or the Wheeler receiver clamp better for installing barrels etc., to avoid damaging the receiver?

2. What pin punches are best for installing the pins in the gas block etc.?

There are professionals tools and there are tools that will work great just using occasionally. When I worked on cars for a living, the only tools I bought were Snap On. They used to be hands down the best. I have heard from people they aren’t what they used to be but I think that is true of most things today. Anyways, I couldnt get off the Snap On truck for less than $500.00. Now I am retired and I have bought less expensive tools to do a job, like Craftsman that are still made in the USA and they aren’t as nice or pretty but do the job without damaging anything.

The Chinese made Craftsman tools are not worth buying. I got their ultimate 208 bit set. I needed a T-10 for a hand gun screw that the torque is 10-15 ft. Lbs. I started to loosen the screw and the bit snapped off in the screw. I made a mess of the anodizing on the optics rail trying to get the screw out with the tiniest pair of locking pliers. Their is only about an 1/8" clearance on each side of the screw to the edge of the rail and the screw is counter sunk into the rail. Then I got a small chisel and tapped it once and it came loose. So, since this screw and one on the other end of the rail have to come out every time the pistol needs cleaned, I found a Snap On Dealer. The screw from Browning with shipping was about $15.00. In this case, I would have been far better off buying the best tool for the job and a whole lot less frustration. I’m going to try and use one of the pens for touching up scratches to make the rail look decent because it would be cheaper to buy the Buckmark Camper Rail then to have it anodized again.